Law And Disorder

Law And Disorder

Click Image to Enlarge

Law And Disorder DVD Cover

Michael Redgrave and Robert Morley head a stellar cast in this marvellous comedy of skulduggery and deception from Ealing Studios lynchpin Charles Crichton and Oscar-winning screenwriter T.E.B. Clarke – best known as the team behind The Lavender Hill Mob. Law and Disorder is presented here in a brand-new transfer from the original elements, in its as-exhibited theatrical aspect ratio.

Percy Brand's son, Colin, thinks his father is a clergyman, when Percy's real vocation is that of confidence trickster – his frequent spells 'inside' explained away as missionary trips abroad. When a grown-up Colin studies law and eventually becomes a judge's marshal, his father feels bound to retire to a fishing village. He cannot keep away from his life of crime, however, and in no time at all he's getting involved in the local squire's brandy smuggling activities...

Cast In Alphabetical Order

Alfred Burke as Willis Pugh - Poacher Allan Cuthbertson as Police Inspector Anthony Sagar as Customs Official Arthur Howard as Burrows Brenda Bruce as Mary Cooper David Hutcheson as Freddie Cooper Elizabeth Sellars as Gina Laselle George Coulouris as 'Bennie' Bensuson Gerald Cross as Hodgkin Harold Goodwin as Blacky Irene Handl as Woman in Train Jeremy Burnham as Colin Brand Joan Hickson as Aunt Florence John Hewer as Foxy John Le Mesurier as Sir Humphrey Pomfret John Paul as Customs Officer John Rudling as Man in Train John Warwick as Police Superintendent Lionel Jeffries as Major Proudfoot Mary Kerridge as Lady Crichton Meredith Edwards as Sergeant Bolton Michael Brennan as Bent - Warder Ext. Prison Michael Redgrave as Percy Brand Michael Trubshawe as Ivan Nora Nicholson as Mrs. Cartwright Reginald Beckwith as Vickery Robert Morley as Judge Sir Edward Crichton Ronald Squire as Colonel Masters Sam Kydd as Shorty Toke Townley as Sidney Rumpthorne


Directed by Charles Crichton Produced by Paul Soskin & George Pitcher Screenplay by T.E.B. Clarke, Patrick Campbell & Vivienne Knight From the novel 'Smugglers' Circuit' by Denys Roberts Released 1958 Running Time 73 minutes.

Synopsis Taken From DVD Cover ©2014 Network

Film Images ©1958 Studiocanal Films Ltd.

main logo