Passport To Pimlico

Passport To Pimlico

Click Image For Complete DVD Details

Passport To Pimlico DVD Cover

Ealing Studios’ output from the 1940s and 1950s helped define what was arguably the golden age for British cinema. Written by Ealing regular T.E.B. Clarke, PASSPORT TO PIMLICO was nominated by BAFTA in the Best British Film category and stars Stanley Holloway, Hermione Baddeley, Margaret Rutherford and Paul Dupuis.

When an unexploded WWII bomb is unexpectedly detonated in Pimlico, it reveals a buried cellar full of treasures, including an ancient document proving that the area is in fact part of Burgundy, France and thus foreign territory. In an attempt to regain control, the British Government set up borders and cut off all services to the area, but the ‘Burgundians’ are determined to fight back!

Cast In Alphabetical Order

Arthur Denton as Customs Official Arthur Howard as Bassett Barbara Murray as Shirley Pemberton Basil Radford as Gregg Betty Warren as Connie Pemberton Bill Shine as Captain Willow Charles Hawtrey as Bert Fitch Frederick Piper as Garland Gilbert Davis as Bagshawe Harry Locke as Sergeant Hermione Baddeley as Edie Randall James Hayter as Commissionaire Jane Hylton as Molly John Slater as Frank Huggins Malcolm Knight as Monty Cowan Margaret Rutherford as Professor Hatton-Jones Michael Hordern as Bashford Nancy Gabrielle as Mrs. Cowan Naunton Wayne as Straker Paul Dupuis as Duke of Burgundy Philip Stainton as P.C.Spiller Raymond Huntley as Mr. Wix Roy Carr as Benny Spiller Roy Gladdish as Charlie Randall Sam Kydd as Sapper Stanley Holloway as Arthur Pemberton Stuart Lindsell as Coroner Sydney Tafler as Fred Cowan Tommy Godfrey as Bus Conductor


Produced by Michael Balcon & E.V.H. Emmett Directed by Henry Cornelius Screenplay by T.E.B. Clarke Running Time 81 minutes. Theatrical Release 1949

Synopsis Taken From DVD Cover ©2012 STUDIOCANAL

Film Images ©1949 CANAL+ IMAGE UK LTD.

main logo