First Of The
Summer Wine
First Of The Summer Wine

A prequel to Roy Clarke's original Last Of The Summer Wine and featuring Peter Sallis, First Of The Summer Wine takes place in a small Yorkshire village. The action revolves around the antics of the young Compo, Clegg and Seymour and their usually level headed female counterparts, all of whom are grappling with the world around them, their youth, and their experiences with the opposite sex usually with hilarious consequences.

Set between May and September 1939 as Hitler's Nazi Germany and Great Britain become increasingly poised for war the characters lives are about to be changed forever.

Number of Series: 2 Total Number of Episodes: 13 Transmitted: 1988 - 1989 First Episode: 3rd January 1988 Last Episode: 8th October 1989

Synopsis Taken From DVD Cover ©Acorn Media UK 2011

Film Images ©BBC

main logo