Only When I Laugh
Only When I Laugh

A huge ratings success for ITV, Only When I Laugh was written by Eric Chappell (Rising Damp, Home to Roost) and directed by Vernon Lawrence (Duty Free, The Bounder). The series starred James Bolam (Beiderbecke), Peter Bowles (To the Manor Born) and Christopher Strauli (Raffles) as three congenital hypochondriac layabouts forever haunting the ward patrolled by the droll Doctor Thorpe (Richard Wilson - One Foot in the Grave).

Number of Series: 4 Total Number of Episodes: 29 Transmitted: 1979 - 1982 First Episode: 29th October 1979 Last Episode: 16th December 1982

Synopsis Taken From DVD Cover ©2007 Network

Film Images ©1979 ITV Productions Limited.

main logo